2013 MCA AWARDS AND NOMINATIONS PROCEDURES

In an effort to recognize significant contributions to the counseling profession in Michigan, the Michigan Counseling Association sponsors five annual awards. The awards will be made at the association's annual conference. Following are the awards criteria:

MCA Lifetime Achievement Award: An award honoring and recognizing consistent and exemplary service to the State Branch. Person must have at least thirty years of continuous membership with distinguished service to MCA. Recent MCA Awardees: John Geisler

MCA Distinguished Professional Service Award: An annual award honoring and recognizing long-term outstanding service to the State Branch. Person must have at least five years continuous membership and distinguished service to MCA. Recent MCA Awardees: Garbette Montie Garraway, Thomas Stone, Elyce A. Cron, Margaret Zonca, Judith Seaborn, Jack Cloud, Dan Correll, Debora Gates, Jan Papp, Jane Goodman, Chris Larson Vanslyke, Jennifer Bramer

MCA Human Rights Award: An award honoring an MCA member who has made significant contributions in one or more areas of human rights advancement. Recent MCA Awardees: Cheryl Dove, Janice Green, Yvonne Callaway, Jennifer Bramer, Stu Itkowitz, Margarita Silva-Pots, Suzanne Hobson

MCA Legislative Service Award: An award recognizing an MCA member or a public official's contribution to public policy which significantly enhances the counseling profession. Recent MCA Awardees: Thomas J. Wuori, Shirley Mack, Melissa Hogan, Flora Jenkins and Beatrice Harrison, Suzanne Hobson, Gilda Jacobs, Jan Van Gasse, Jean Doss, Marion Turowski, Rep. Bob Emerson, Sen. Beverly Hammerstrom, Doris Foley, Nancy G. Calley, Lisa Hawley

MCA Diversity Award: An award recognizing a person, organization, agency or governmental unity making significant contributions to the recognition of human diversity for the enhancement of dignity through research, articles or service. Recent MCA Awardees: University Transfer Advising and Career Counseling Division at Henry Ford Community College, Robbie J. Steward, Farmington/FH Multicultural/Multiracial Community Council, Betty Reisman, Gail Harrison, Oakland University

Nominee's Name	Award Nam	ne
City	State	Zip
	email:	
Person submitting nomi	ination	
Business Address		
	State	Zıp .
City	State email:	zıp .
CityPhone (office)	State email:	

Nomination form must be accompanied by letters of support. All letters are kept confidential. Nomination and letters must be received on or before October 1, 2013. Please email form and letters of support to Debora Gates, MCA Awards Chair at: debbieg@hfcc.edu.